| 14.01.2022

Christoph Vitzthum new chair of the Hanken Board

Christoph Vitzthum Hankens nya styrelseordförande
Christoph Vitzthum has been elected chair for the new Board of Hanken School of Economics. Vitzthum was elected during the Board’s statutory meeting on 14 January 2022. Janne Larma was elected vice-chair.

Christoph Vitzthum succeeds honorary doctor Jannica Fagerholm, who ended her splendid 14-year career on Hanken's Board at the turn of the year.

"We are very happy to have such an experienced and inspiring chair, we look forward to working with him and the new Board and developing Hanken together. I would also like to thank the outgoing chair Jannica Fagerholm for her fantastic contribution to Hanken", says Karen Spens, Rector of Hanken School of Economics.

Christoph Vitzthum has been President & CEO of the Fazer Group since 2013. He has previously worked in various leading positions within Wärtsilä. In addition, he is chair of Konecranes Oyj and Varma's Supervisory Board, member of Nordstjernan AB, Oras Invest Oy, and CMI - Martti Ahtisaari Peace Foundation.

"It is with great interest and enthusiasm that I undertake this assignment. Hanken has made enormous progress in recent years and I hope, together with the rest of the board, to be able to continue the important work for the benefit of all stakeholders", comments Christoph Vitzthum.

The University Council at Hanken School of Economics elected a new Board in its meeting on 3 December 2021. The term of office for the new Board began on 1 January 2022. The Board has 10 members; six representing the university and four external members.

The external members are:

Roger Holm, Director, Wärtsilä Maritime Solutions
Janne Larma, Working Chair of the Board, eQ Plc
Janicke Rasmussen, Dean Master, BI Norwegian Business School
Christoph Vitzthum, President & CEO, Fazer Group

The internal members are:

Mats Ehrnrooth, Professor in management and organisation
Kenneth Högholm, Professor in finance
Mikko Vesa, Assistant Professor in management and organisation
Viveka Ekholm, Quality Assurance Co-ordinator
Jennifer Holmberg, students’ representative
Sebastian Ståhlberg, students’ representative