The HUMLOG Institute's Board Award

The HUMLOG Institute rewards each year one Master’s student and every second year one Doctoral student who have been writing the best theses in Humanitarian Logistics. This year the nominations will be for one Master's student.

Call for HUMLOG Institute Board Award

The topic of the thesis has to relate to humanitarian logistics and supply chain management.

Nominated Doctoral and Master's thesis need to fulfill the criterion of being a "research-based thesis with a good grade from a recognised university".

Submitted Doctoral thesis have to be finished and defended within the time frame of maximum of 5 years prior the nomination deadline

Submitted Master's thesis have to be completed the year prior to the nomination.


Nominations shall be done by the supervisor of the thesis and include the following:

  •  An extended abstract and/or executive summary in English
  •  A short reasoning why this thesis is exceptional and nominated for the award including the grade (if applicable) and an explanation of the university's grading system.
  • A link to the thesis online and/or an electronic copy. Paper versions are allowed but need to reach the HUMLOG Institute by the deadline.
  • The contact details of the nominee and supervisor

Nominations have to be sent to, deadline for submissions for the award granted in 2024 is February 29th.



2023 Winner

Margot Rocheteau (supervisor Virva Tuomala)

Medical waste management for more resilient humanitarian organizations


2023 Honorary Mention

Loretta Berger (supervisor Setphan Wagner)

Supply Chain Management in humanitarian forensic action: characteristics and challenges


2021 Winner

Charlotte Girardin (supervisor Stephan Wagner)

Evaluating the Promotion of Innovation in NGOs – Survey and Interview Based Study beneficiary perspective


2021 Honorary mention

Clarisse Debalme (supervisor Tariq Masood)

Humanitarian Operations: Using Big Data and Machine Learning for Managing Pandemics


2020 Winner

Krichelle Medel (supervisor Tariq Masood)

Building resilience in disaster management supply networks through cross-sector collaboration.


2020 Honorary mention

Brenda Farias (supervisors Adriana Leiras & Tharcisio Cotta Fontainha)

Framework for performance evaluation in humanitarian operations from the beneficiary perspective


2020 Honorary mention

Sonja Saari (supervisor Arni Halldorsson)

Renewable energy sources in emergency humanitarian medical cold chain for sustainability enhancing.

2019 Winner

Lisa Swinkels (supervisors Harwin de Vries & Luk Van Wassenhove)

Frequency Determination Policies for Mobile Healthcare Delivery.

2019 Honorary mention

Ramin Satary (supervisor Irineu de Brito Junior)

Optimization of Transport Network of Food Supplies for an international humanitarian organization.

2023 Winner

Jonas Stumpf (supervisor Tina Wakolbinger)

Exploring supply chains to strengthen humanitarian operations in times of growing needs, scarce resources, and major disruptions


2023 Honorary Mention

Luiza Ribeiro Alves Cunh (supervisor Adriana Leiras)

Modelling the Dynamics of Humanitarian Operations


2021 Winner

Hella Abidi (supervisors Wout Dullaert, Sander de Leeuw & Matthias Klumpp)

Performance Management in Supply Chain-Application to humanitarian and commercial supply chains


2021 Honorary mention

Mojtaba Salem (supervisor Maria Besiou)

Leadership in Humanitarian Operations



Hossein Baharmand (supervisor Tina Comes)

Designing Flexible Relief Distribution Networks for Sudden-onset Natural Disaster Response


2019 Honorary mention

Tharcisio Cotta Fontainha (supervisors Adriana Leiras & Luiz Felipe Scavarda)

Collaboration strategies in disaster response: a framework and an application (in portuguese)